Sedin brothers, Luongo lead Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2022

The Sedins headline the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2022 that was revealed on Monday.

Roberto Luongo, Daniel Alfredsson and Riikka Sallinen of the Finland women’s national team, were also voted in the players category, and Herb Carnegie in the Builders category by the 18-member Selection Committee as part of the Class of 2022, which will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in Toronto on Nov. 14.

Candidates had to receive at least 75 percent of the vote from the selection committee to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

A maximum of four former male players, two former female players, two builders or one builder and one former referee/linesman may be inducted in a single year.

The Canucks selected Daniel Sedin with the No. 2 pick in the 1999 NHL Draft and Henrik Sedin with the No. 3 pick. The twins played their entire 17-season careers in Vancouver.

Henrik became known as one of the best passers and playmakers in NHL history. He’s the Canucks all-time leader in assists (830), points (1,070), games played (1,330), plus-minus (plus-165) and power play points (369). He is 27th in NHL history in assists.

He won the Hart Trophy as the NHL’s most valuable player and the Art Ross Trophy as the League’s leading scorer in 2009-10, when he had 112 points (29 goals, 83 assists) in 82 games.

He also had 78 points (23 goals, 55 assists) in 105 Stanley Cup Playoff games, leading the Canucks to the Stanley Cup Final in 2011, when they lost to the Boston Bruins in seven games.

Henrik also had success on the international level with Sweden, winning an Olympic gold medal in 2006 and finishing first at the 2013 IIHF World Championship gold in 2013.

“I had a lot of pride playing in Vancouver and am lucky to have had the support of so many great teammates and coaches,” Henrik said. “I would like to thank the fans, and everyone associated with the Canucks organization.”

Daniel Sedin had 1,041 points (393 goals, 648 assists) from 2000-18, seventh in the NHL in that span. His 393 goals are first in Canucks history. He is second behind his brother in assists, points, plus-minus (plus-147), games played (1,306) and power-play points (367).

He won the Art Ross Trophy and the Ted Lindsay Award in 2010-11, when he had 104 points (41 goals, 63 assists). Sedin also had 71 points (25 goals, 46 assists) in 102 playoff games. He also won gold at the Olympics in 2006 and won the World Championship in 2013 with Sweden.

“I’m really proud of this special recognition,” Daniel said. “My brother and I came into the League together, and to go in with him is extra special.”

Luongo, a teammate of the Sedins with the Canucks from 2006-14, was the No. 4 pick by the New York Islanders in the 1997 NHL Draft and played 19 seasons with the Islanders, Canucks and Florida Panthers, retiring after the 2018-19 season. The former goalie is fourth in NHL history in wins with 489, and second behind Hall of Famer Martin Brodeur in games played (1,044), shots against (30,924) and saves (28,409).

Luongo is a two-time 40-game winner and played in 70-plus games in four straight seasons from 2003-08. He was a finalist for the Vezina Trophy as the League’s top goalie three times (2003-04, 2006-07 and 2010-11). He was also a Hart Trophy finalist in 2006-07, and is a two-time Olympic gold-medal winner for Canada, as the starter in 2010 in Vancouver and as the backup to Carey Price in 2014 in Sochi. He also helped Canada win the IIHF World Championship in 2003 and 2004 and the 2004 World Cup of Hockey.

“This is an unbelievable honor, and I am grateful to be inducted,” Luongo said. “I grew up playing the sport I love, and to be included in such elite company is beyond my expectations.”

Alfredsson had 1,157 points (444 goals, 713 assists) in 1,246 games during an 18-season NHL career from 1995-2014 with the Ottawa Senators and Detroit Red Wings. The No. 133 pick in the 1994 NHL Draft, Alfredsson is the Senators leader in goals, assists and points and second in games (behind Chris Phillips, 1,179). The former forward won a gold medal at the 2006 Torino Olympics and a silver medal at the 2014 Sochi Olympics with Sweden. Alfredsson won the Calder Trophy as NHL rookie of the year in the NHL in 1995-96, when he had 61 points (26 goals, 35 assists) in 82 games with the Senators.

“I can’t tell you what this means to me and to the City of Ottawa,” Alfredsson said. “The people in Ottawa taught me what it means to give back and to make a difference in the community. For that, I am so grateful.”

Sallinen, the first female Finland-born player inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame, had 514 points (240 goals, 274 assists) in 227 Finnish Elite league games. The former forward is the oldest hockey player to win an Olympic medal, winning bronze with Finland in the 2018 PyeongChang Games.

Carnegie competed on four Allan Cup teams in the 1940s. He led the Quebec Aces to the Alexander Cup as Canadian semi-pro champions in 1952. After retiring in 1952, Carnegie worked to further diversity in the game of hockey until his death in 2012.

“The Hockey Hall of Fame is proud to welcome these hockey legends as Honored Members,” said Mike Gartner, chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame selection committee. “Their contributions to the game of hockey are well documented, and their election to the Hockey Hall of Fame is richly deserved.”

Leave a Comment